16.2 C
New York
Wednesday, May 29, 2024

Buy now

Trump postpones G-7 summit until September, inviting Russia, Australia, India and South Korea

The President of the United States, Donald Trump, has announced that he will postpone until September the G-7 summit in Washington D.C. to accommodate a group of countries more representative of the current economic situation, as explained.

Trump has announced that he will invite four countries to the event: Russia, Australia, India and South Korea. Russia stands out, which left the group in 2014 due to the annexation of Crimea.

“I am going to postpone it,” Trump explained, “because I do not think that the G-7 represents right now what is happening in the world. It is a group of countries that is very outdated,” he said in statements collected by CNN.

The president initially called the meeting for the end of June but was met with the suspicion of several world leaders, including the Chancellor of Germany, Angela Merkel, who declined this Saturday the invitation to the world crisis due to the coronavirus.

“The chancellor thanks President Trump for the invitation to the G-7 summit in Washington at the end of June but, given the general situation of the pandemic, she cannot promise her personal participation, that is, a trip to Washington,” according to a person in charge. of communication of the German Government.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles