10.6 C
New York
Wednesday, April 17, 2024

Buy now

Rodríguez, Bagwell and Raines enter Hall of Fame

Former baseball players Ivan Rodriguez, Jeff Bagwell and Tim Raines were inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame on Sunday.

The three players are joined by executive John Schuerholz and commissioner Emeritus Bud Selig in inducing the 2017 Generation Hall of Fame Major League.

The five were honored in front of a large crowd, including 50 members of the Hall of Fame such as those inducted last year, Ken Griffey Jr. and Mike Piazza.

Rodríguez, the only Latin American player to enter the Hall of Fame this year, was one of the best receivers in Major League history in a 21-year career playing for the Texas Rangers and the Detroit Tigers.

The Puerto Rican also did it for the Florida Marlins, the Houston Astros, the New York Yankees and the Washington Nationals.

Rodriguez finished his career with 2,844 hits, 2,749 of them connected as receiver to get the best figure of all time.

He is also a leader in RBIs as a receiver, with 1,290, and with his 304 home runs as receiver he ranks fifth on that list.

In defense he was the only one and led the American League with a percentage of catching robbery nine times in six consecutive seasons from 1996 to 2001.

During his career he was awarded 13 Gold Gloves, representing the most for a receiver.

He played 14 times in the All-Star Game and won the American League MVP with the Rangers in 1999 and repeated in 2003 in the National League Championship Series with the Marlins, heading to the title Of World Series.

Bagwell hit a .300 or better six seasons in his career, finishing with 449 home runs and 1,529 RBIs for a lifetime.

Bagwell had seven consecutive seasons with at least 30 homers and 100 bases.
Only six players had more than Bagwell, including Barry Bonds, Babe Ruth, Jim Thome, Lou Gehrig, Frank Thomas and Ted Williams.

Bagwell, who remains the face of the Astros, is the all-time leader of the ninth Texan in home runs and powered runs.

The player occupies second place in Biggio in games played, runs scored, hits, total bases and doubles.

He achieved 202 stolen bases for life, which allows him to occupy the sixth place.
Raines achieved 808 stolen bases, helping him to occupy fifth place in Major League Baseball history.

There are only four players that surpass him, who are Rickey Henderson, Lou Brock, Billy Hamilton and Ty Cobb, all members of the Hall of Fame.

Raines’ exploit was that he stole at least 70 bases in six consecutive seasons, the longest streak in major league history.

His base percentage of robbery of 84.7 percent ranks second among players with 300 stolen bases, only surpassed by Puerto Rican Carlos Beltrán, with 86.4 percent).

His work with the wood left him with 2,605 hits in his 23-year career who played for the Montreal Expos, Chicago White Sox and New York Yankees.

Raines reached base 3,977 times in his career to be the number 45 in the history of majors.

Commissioner Bud Selig oversaw so many changes in baseball and led the biggest game through so many situations that he was credited with inducing into the Hall of Fame.

While John Schuerholz, the baseball executive and general manager who led the Kansas City Royals to the 1985 World Series title, also performed well with the Atlanta Braves for 17 years.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles