WhatsApp has not modified the privacy settings of the Groups as a viral message ensures

WhatsApp allows you to modify the privacy settings of the Groups, so that users decide the scope of who can include them in new chats, but an alleged update of the service has generated controversy for having ensured that the company has changed the settings and pre-established the option to ‘Everyone’.

Since last week it has been shared on social networks such as Facebook that WhatsApp has distributed an update with which it has changed the settings of User Groups. Specifically, and as reported by Forbes, the viral message draws attention to the privacy risks posed by this change and even indicates the steps to modify the settings.

The viral message is as follows: “WhatsApp has changed your group settings to include ‘everyone’ by default, so that people you don’t know can add you to a group without you knowing. These people can include fraudulent messages , loan takers, etc. You can change your default settings as follows: 1. Go to WhatsApp: 2. Go to Settings 3. Go to Account 4. Go to Privacy 5. Go to Groups 6. Change from (All) to (My contacts). This is true. I checked mine and all settings were changed for everyone instead of my contacts. “

This message can alert those people that when they go to confirm if it is true, they see that in fact their configuration for the groups indicates ‘All’. It is, however, the default option for these mass chats since the update that WhatsApp introduced and notified in 2019, and it is not linked to the latest update of the service’s policies.

That is, if the user who goes to his configuration alarmed has not made any change in it in the last two years, he will see the option ‘all’, but not because WhatsApp has changed it now with a new update, but because he did. two years ago. There will also be users who have directly wanted to leave this option.

A WhatsApp spokesperson has confirmed to Europa Press that the service allows anyone who has a user’s phone number to send them a message or add them to a group, just as anyone can send an SMS or email if they have the information. contact. And he clarifies that in 2019 they added “new controls” for people who wanted to put limits on who could add them to the groups.

WhatsApp, in addition to allowing you to change the configuration of groups, has tools that allow you to block and report other users, and notifies the user of the settings each time a person who is not registered as a contact adds him to a group.

Leave a Reply

Discover

Sponsor

spot_imgspot_img

Latest

Parkland remembered shooting victims in bittersweet graduation ceremony

The more than 700 seniors at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Florida, on February 14, a shooting that took the lives of...

Raptors rotate and beat Nuggets before playoffs

Toronto Raptors beat (117-109) this Friday the Denver Nuggets in their last game of the NBA qualifying round in the Orlando 'bubble', which closed...

Celine Dion, Drake and Miley Cyrus bring their music to the Billboard Awards

Celine Dion, Drake, Miley Cyrus, Nicki Minaj, Lil Wayne, Bruno Mars and Lord are some of the artists who will be on the stage...

The American couple Kisner and Brown, new leaders of the New Orleans Classic golf

The American couple Kevin Kisner and Scott Brown have become the new leaders of the New Orleans Classic Golf, a PGA tournament that is...

Uber takes self-driving cars to Arizona after California demands permit

By Heather Somerville and Alexandria Sage | Uber Technologies Inc on Thursday removed its self-driving test cars from California and put them on trucks bound...
%d bloggers like this: