23.3 C
New York
Thursday, July 18, 2024

Buy now

Panamanians, Dominicans, Mexicans and Cubans to second date Caribbean Series

 Panama will debut on Tuesday against the Dominican Republic in the second round of the Caribbean Series that takes place at the Rod Carew Stadium, in the Panamanian capital.

The Panamanians will go to the Diamond of Rod Carew to face the Eastern Stars of the Dominican Republic after the novenas of Cuba and Mexico are measured in the first game of the second date.

The team from Panama, led by Panamanian expeller Manuel Rodríguez, is located in group B of the championship along with the Eastern Stars of the Dominican Republic and Cangrejeros de Santurce de Puerto Rico.
The ninth in Panama is represented by the Toros de Herrera, the champion of the Professional Baseball League of Panama (Probeis), and reinforced with players from Nicaragua, Colombia and Panama.

Manuel Corpas, who played in the Rockies of Colorado; Enrique Burgos, had his way through the Arizona Diamondbacks; Severino González, who climbed the majors with the Philadelphia Phillies; Javier Guerra and Allen Córdoba, both with the San Diego Padres, are part of the Panamanian blunderbuss.

The Eastern Stars of the Dominican Republic debuted in the tournament on Monday with a convincing 3-1 over Puerto Rico, represented by the Cangrejeros de Santurce, veterans with five titles and defenders of the bicampeonato.

At the second hour, the debutantes Leñadores de Las Tunas, from Cuba, will face Charros de Jalisco, Mexico, who also participate for the first time in this high level regional tournament.

Lumberjacks of Las Tunas arrived reinforced with outstanding players of the National Series, plus three players hired in the professional ball of Japan, among them the stellar Alfredo Despaigne.

Cuba is expected to open after the plate with Yosvani Alarcón; Yordanis Samón, Alexander Ayala and Yurisbel Gracial will defend the initial, the shortstop and the anteroom, respectively.
While in the gardens will be planted Yunieski Larduet and Jorge Jhonson, along with Despaigne.
Panama hosts, after 59 years, the 61 Series of the Caribbean, tournament of champions professional baseball clubs of Puerto Rico, Mexico Venezuela, Dominican Republic, Panama and Cuba, these last two as guests.

The Dominican Republic has won the most series (19), followed by Puerto Rico (16), Mexico (9), Cuba (8), Venezuela (7) and Panama (1). (EFE).

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles