19.6 C
New York
Saturday, June 15, 2024

Buy now

Diana Ross to receive an honorary award at the American Music Awards

Artist Diana Ross will receive an honorary award at the next edition of the American Music Awards in recognition of her career of more than four decades on the stage, the organization said in a statement.
“I have endless memories of all the years I’ve participated in the American Music Awards,” said Ross.

“I’m very excited to receive this award,” said the singer, who will be on stage at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles on November 19 to sing some of her greatest hits.

The American Music Award for Lifetime Achievement, formerly known as the “American Music Award of Merit”, is given to those artists who have made outstanding contributions to the music industry.

Johnny Cash, Whitney Houston, Janet Jackson, Michael Jackson, Gloria Estefan, Ella Fitzgerald, Billy Joel, Bon Jovi, Annie Lennox, Paul McCartney, , Elvis Presley, Prince, Frank Sinatra and Stevie Wonder, among others.

The singer Bruno Mars, with eight nominations, leaves as a favorite at the 45th edition of the American Music Awards, while Luis Fonsi and Daddy Yankee will compete for four awards.

Bruno Mars aspires to raise, among others, the statues to the artist of the year, video of the year and male artist. In the field of artist of the year will have rivals to The Chainsmokers, Drake, Kendrick Lamar and Ed Sheeran.

The Chainsmokers, Drake, Kendrick Lamar, Ed Sheeran and The Weeknd each got five nominations.

The category of favorite Latin artist will put Daddy Yankee, Luis Fonsi and Shakira into action.

Fonsi and Daddy Yankee, thanks to their celebrated “Despacito”, opt for a total of four awards: collaboration of the year, video of the year, favorite pop / rock song and favorite Latin artist.

The nominees for the American Music Awards are based on sales records of albums and digital songs, radio broadcasts and streaming as measured by the Billboard publication and its partners Nielsen Music and Next Big Sound.
The winners, however, are chosen by the followers.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles