5.6 C
New York
Tuesday, February 27, 2024

Buy now

Jon Rahm, along with Palmer, achieves his third title on the PGA Tour

Spanish Jon Rahm achieved his third title on the PGA Tour on Sunday by winning, paired with American veteran Ryan Palmer, the Zurich Classic of New Orleans, played since Thursday at TPC Louisiana in Avondale.

Rahm finished off an especially brilliant week for Spanish golf. His triumph joins those achieved in Morocco by Jorge Campillo and Nuria Iturrios, respectively winners of the Hassan II Trophy and the Lalla Meryem Cup, both tournaments of the European circuits of men and women, played at the Royal Golf Dar Es Salam, Rabat . In addition, Sergio García finished second in Avondale, pairing with Englishman Tommy Fleetwood.

Rahm and Palmer won the Avondale victory with 262 total hits (26 under par), three over Sergio Garcia and Tommy Fleetwood and five over two pairs, the South Korean Lee Kyoung-Hoon and the American Matt Every and the integrated by the also North American Brian Gay and the South African nationalized Slovak Rory Sabbatini.

Jon Rahm, 24 years old and number 11 in the world ranking, adds this title to those previously achieved in the Farmers Insurance Open of 2017 and the CareerBuilder Challenge of 2018.

In total, the Biscayan Barrika, despite his young age, accumulates seven victories as a professional. Those three on the PGA Tour must be added the three obtained in the European Tour (Irish Open and DP World Tour Championship in Dubai 2017 and the Spanish Open in 2018), and achieved at the end of 2018 in the Hero World Challenge

For Ryan Palmer, a 42-year-old Texan, it’s the fourth victory on the North American circuit, and the first since January 2010, more than nine years ago, at the Sony Open.

Rahm and Palmer were joined this time accidentally, by the losses of his teammates last year: Wesley Bryan and Jordan Spieth, respectively.

“It was something that suited me, we played in a similar way, so I had the feeling that it would be a good partnership,” Rahm told Tengolf before the tournament.

This tournament is played in pairs since 2017, the year in which they won the Swedish Jonas Blixt and the Australian Cameron Smith. Last year, the Americans Billy Horschel and Scott Piercy prevailed, followed by Rahm and Palmer. (EFE).

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles