23.1 C
New York
Monday, June 24, 2024

Buy now

The Platinum Awards reveal on Thursday the nominations for its sixth edition

 The Iberoamerican Film Platinum Awards will announce the final nominations of its sixth edition on Thursday, an event that will take place at the Roosevelt Hotel in Hollywood (California) starting at 10.00 local time (17.00 GMT).

The announcement will be carried out by the actors Jaime Camil, Luis Gerardo Méndez, Karla Souza, Angie Cepeda, Joaquín Cosio and the ambassador of the awards, the journalist Juan Carlos Arciniegas.

The film “Roma”, by Mexican Alfonso Cuarón, became the favorite of this year’s edition in February, when it was selected as a finalist in eight of the award-winning categories.

The film, winner of three Oscars (best foreign film, best director and best cinematography), was shortlisted to the Platinum for best film, direction, screenplay, editing, art direction, sound and photography.

In addition, in the category of best female performance, Yalitza Aparicio and Marina de Tavira were pre-selected, both for their performances in “Roma”.

In addition to “Roma”, they are candidates for best Ibero-American fiction film “Campeones” (Spain), “El Reino” (Spain), “Museo” (Mexico), “Pájaros de verano” (Colombia), “La noche de 12 years “(Uruguay),” A son of man “(Ecuador),” Averno “(Bolivia),” Benzinho “(Brazil),” Cocote “(Dominican Republic) and” Dry Martina “(Chile).

Also competing are “El Ángel” (Argentina), “La familia” (Venezuela), “Las heiressos” (Paraguay), “O grande circo místico” (Brazil), “Pedro e Inès” (Portugal), “Rojo” (Argentina) ), “Sergio Serguéi” (Spain), “Late to die young” (Chile) and “Wiñaypacha” (Peru).

Among those who choose the best direction are Cuarón (“Roma)”, Álvaro Brechner (“The night of 12 years”), Arantxa Echevarría (“Carmen and Lola”), Javier Fesser (“Champions”) and Rodrigo Sorogoyen (” The Kingdom “), among others.

Javier Bardem (“Everyone knows”), Antonio de la Torre (“The Kingdom”), Alfonso Tort (“The night of 12 years”), Javier Gutiérrez (“Champions”), José Coronado (“Your son”) and José Acosta (“Birds of summer”) are some of the aspiring best actor.

In addition to Aparicio and De Tavira, they aspire to be nominated as best actresses Ana Brun and Ana Ivanova (“The heirs”), Carmiña Martínez (“Birds of summer”), Karina Gidi (“Los adioses”) and Antonella Costa (“Dry Martina “), among others.

“El Chapo” (Mexico), “Elite” (Spain), “The House of Flowers” (Mexico), “Luis Miguel, The Series” (Mexico), “Fariña” (Spain) and “Narcos: Mexico” ( Mexico) are among the contenders for best television series.

Verónica Castro and Cecilia Suárez (“La casa de las flores”) could appear as best actresses in a television series, while Diego Luna (“Narcos: Mexico”), Diego Boneta and Óscar Jaenada (“Luis Miguel, the series”) aspire to best serial actors.

The awards ceremony will be held on May 12 in the Riviera Maya, for the second year in a row at the Gran Tlachco Theater of the Xcaret Park, located on the outskirts of the tourist town of Playa del Carmen, in the Mayan Riviera of the Caribbean. Mexican.

These awards, promoted by the Entity of Management of Rights of Audiovisual Producers (Egeda) of Spain, together with the Ibero-American Federation of Cinematographic and Audiovisual Producers (Fipca), seek to promote Ibero-American cinema. (EFEUSA) .-

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles