The celebration of the Gold Cup is guaranteed until 2023: Concacaf

The Gold Cup, the tournament of national teams organized by the Confederation of North America, Central America and the Caribbean Football (CONCACAF), is guaranteed at least until 2023, according to the statement released by the entity on Tuesday.

The information of the Concacaf is given after knowing the declarations of the president of the Federation of Soccer of the United States, the Hispanic Carlos Cordeiro, who assured that the Gold Cup is in risk of disappearing after the edition of 2021 due to the creation of a new tournament that would be combined with the Copa América.

“After the latest information published by the media, Concacaf clarifies that it is fully committed to the Gold Cup and confirms that the 2019, 2021 and 2023 editions are part of the FIFA calendar,” said Cordeiro.

Meanwhile, the official announcement warns that once the new FIFA calendar is produced after 2023, “CONCACAF will continue to organize the main event of our confederation”.

The controversy arose from the statements that Cordeiro offered through the digital media The Athletic, in which he pointed out that the contest, which is being held since 1991, could not continue and revealed that there are plans between Concacaf and Conmebol to organize a nation competition.

“The Gold Cup is only legislated for this year and 2021, so it could continue, but it may not happen,” said Cordeiro, who also announced that talks have already been held between the two organizations.

“There have been talks in the last year between Conmebol and Concacaf about a kind of combined Copa América, but they have not been able to reach an agreement on this,” Cordeiro explained.
On the other hand, the president of the United States football federation assured that the Confederations Cup will be eliminated and instead will be played “international qualifiers” that will serve to deliver the last passes to the World Cup.

The 2019 Gold Cup will begin in the United States starting next June 15 with the participation for the first time of 16 national teams. The final will be held on July 7. (USA), (EFE) .-

Leave a Reply


Reminished of Cubs and Cardinals; Whiten Parents and Pirates

The Cubs of Chicago and the San Luis Cardinals, both framed in the Central Division of the National League, played back trails that gave...

The Champions League, a “top” for the video game “FIFA 19”

"FIFA 19", the next edition of the classic electronic soccer game of Electronic Arts, will feature as main novelty with the Champions League, a...

Adam Silver: “The NBA family is devastated”

The NBA commissioner, Adam Silver, issued an official statement after the death of Kobe Bryant this Sunday lamenting a tragic news that leaves "devastated...

Women marching against Trump plan next step: public office

By Laila Kearney | NEW YORK (Reuters) - After she spends Saturday marching in Washington among an expected 200,000 women protesting the presidency of Donald...

Cruises to Cuba will leave revenues of 623 million dollars in three years

The itineraries to Cuba of the three major US cruise companies will leave more than 623 million dollars in revenues between 2017 and 2019,...
%d bloggers like this: