21.6 C
New York
Friday, September 22, 2023

Buy now


The Patriots turn Boston into the capital of sports dynasties

The sixth Super Bowl title that the New England Patriots achieved in the eleventh participation of their history, makes the city of Boston the only one in the country that owns four different teams of professional sports that have become dynasties.

The Patriots with the legends, quarterback Tom Brady, and head coach Bill Belichick, last night lifted the sixth trophy Vince Lombardi of the National Football League (NFL) to beat the Rams 13-3 Los Angeles in Super Bowl LIII and are already along with the Pittsburgh Steelers the only two who have achieved it.

Brady, who at 41 years old becomes the oldest quarterback to win the Vince Lombardi trophy, is also the only one to have six NFL titles by beating Hall of Famer Charles Haley with whom he was tied (five).

Belichick, 66, is also the oldest to win the Vince Lombardi trophy and joins the legendary George Halas and Curly Lambeau as the only three who have achieved it.

Both, with nine Super Bowl appearances and six titles, have surpassed all brands as a duo of professionals who have remained in the same position for 19 years.

The owner of the Patriots, Robert Kraft, acknowledged that thanks to the presence of Brady and Belichick in the team it has been possible to build a dynasty that is undoubtedly the best of all times within the NFL.

But the first, legendary and unique that made the name of Boston reach all corners of the world was that of the Celtics that has in its possession 17 titles, the best record in the history of the NBA and the second in all professional sports of the United States, second only to the New York Yankees in Major League Baseball (27 World Series titles).

Indeed, the only team that tried to make him shade were the Red Sox of Boston, current World Series champions, who won last fall to another team from Los Angeles, the Dodgers, who play in the National League.

The Red Sox under the direction of Puerto Rican driver Alex Cora gave the Boston team the ninth title in the “Fall Classic”, a mark that only the Yankees have been able to overcome.

After the “Bambino” curse, when Babe Ruth left the Red Sox to go with the Yankees, the Boston team that had five World Series in its possession had to wait no less than 86 years before getting back the ” Classic of Autumn “.

But since winning his sixth World Series title in 2004 with David Ortiz as the main character, the Red Sox have already won three other titles, in 2007, in 2013 and 2018.

Meanwhile, the Boston Bruins of the National Ice Hockey League (NHL) complete the fourth dynasty in professional sports by winning six Stanley Cup titles.

Although the last they achieved was achieved in the 2011 season and with which they were consecrated as sports dynasty, which was the third most important city until the Red Sox and the Patriots consolidated theirs in recent years to place them in the second and third places on the list, respectively, behind the Celtics.

This new triumph of the Patriots before a professional team in Los Angeles, the Rams, allows Boston to consolidate its supremacy in the sports arena over the Californian city.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles